Recommend a good Yoga Book

Hi,

I am just getting into Yoga and would like to do a bit of reading up. Can someone recommend a good Yoga book?

Thanks

1 Like

Yoga: The Path to Holistic Health by B.K.S. Iyengar.

[I]Asana Pranyama Mudra Bandha[/I] by Swami Satyananda Saraswati, Bihar School of Yoga; 12th edition (November 2002)

[I]Ashtanga Yoga Primer [/I]by Baba Hari Dass, Sri Rama Pub (October 1981)
[I]Structural Yoga Therapy: Adapting to the Individual[/I] by Mukunda Stiles, Weiser Books (January 2001)

Ronan,
Here are 2 more great books to get you started. As a precaution, I want to add that as you read books from different lineages, do not mix the pranayama (breathing) practices. Most consider it safe to mix asana practices but not pranayama. For example, you’ll find that the pranayama from Baba Hari Das is different than that of Prof. Krishnamacharya. B.K.S. Inyengar (IA’s very good recommendation) and Mukunda Stiles are both in Prof. Krishnamacharya’s lineage so they too are different from Baba Hari Das. It is best to learn pranayama directly from a qualified teacher, though I understand it may not always possible.

Best of luck as you discover what works for you. Enjoy your reading!
Cheers

I got started on reading this many years ago.Although it is not Yoga per-say in an orthodox sense,I still keep it by my bed and read a few pages every now and then before I go to sleep for inspiration.
Amazon.com: Beavis Butthead Chicken Soup For The Butt: A Guide To Finding Your Inner Butt (MTV’s Beavis & Butt-Head): Books: Andy Rheingold,Scott Sonneborn

Three great yoga books:

1. The Heart of Yoga (T.K.V Desikachar)
  • This was a required reading for my teacher training course. It is a comprehensive text written by the son of Krishnamacharya (one of the greatest yogis of the modern era). The book includes Pantanjali’s Yoga Sutra - with a translation and commentary by Desikachar.
  1. Jivamukti Yoga (Sharon Gannon & David Life)