Acid Reflux and Yoga

I am a complete novice, so please forgive any ignorance in this post. I have attended only two Yoga classes.
I have severe acid reflux. I refuse to undergo surgery, and I am trying to get myself off the drugs. I’m changing my diet and successfully losing weight. I’ve already stopped Prevacid, and am working on getting rid of Ranitadine.

Yoga gives me heartburn. Serious heartburn. Physiologically, this makes sense to me, because putting my head in a position lower than my stomach (Downward Dog, and even Child’s Pose) would seem to encourage leaking of acid. Natural treatment and prevention of heartburn all suggest sleeping on an incline, with the head higher than the stomach.

And yet, all over the net, I am finding that Yoga is recommended for relief of acid reflux. How can this be? What am I missing?

This is a serious plea for some help with my confusion and frustration. Thank you so very much.

Hi,

Your condition is not easy to treat and generally people think that normal heartburn or being acidic is the same as acid reflux and it is not. First of all, I am not a doctor and my advice is purely from a yogic perspective and I want to recommend that you carefully implement it or first discuss it with your health practitioner.