Broken wrist recovery

I have been practising yoga for several years now. (Hatha) I broke my wrist in May of this year and had to have surgery with an external fixator put in place for 6 weeks. I am still in physiotherapy trying to gain strength and flexibility back. My question is this: has anyone done the same and how long did it take you to be able to put full weight on the wrist in order to do (for example) Downward Facing Dog? I have returned to my gym and am trying to keep up with the class, but it ends in frustration. If anyone has had a similar experience, I would love to hear about it. I am 40 yrs. old.

Thanks.

You are only seeking feedback from others who have recovered from a broken wrist??

Had a bycicle fall this summer, full weight on my left wrist, no broken bones (thanks to regular plank pose practices) but serious soft tissue damage. It took three months to apply full weight on it again, but still had pain. Full painless recovery took another month. I am 35.

Hi,

I broke my scafoid (I hope the spelling is correct) bone in my wrist in 1999 (I was then 29), it took me 8 weeks out of yoga and it took me about two years to gain my strenght back in my wrist. My physiotherapist gave me a little stress ball and I had to do about 200-300 presses a day in order to help me to strenghten the muscles around the fracture again. It helped and I am still able to put my full weight on my wrist.

Take it slow with the asanas in the beginning that require too much weight on the wrist and increase it with time.

Thank you Pandara and Hubert. I guess I am expecting too much too soon. I need to be more patient with myself in order to heal. I experienced a Colles fracture, in which I broke the radius of my right hand (dominant of course!)

Thanks