Can yoga bring out emotions and pains in your body?

I’m fairly new to yoga (and new to this forum too!!) but have been practicing consistantly for a few months now. I suffer from chest pains due to panic, anxiety and stress which I’m trying to conquer and alleviate through yoga. Practising yoga has helped me a great deal and I have come a long way in overcoming my anxiety disorder.
However, I’ve noticed that when I’ve had a really bad time with anxiety and my chest hurts, I practice yoga to try and calm myself down. This works but then the next day, the pains seemed to have magnified and it feels even more painful and sore. I was just wondering if this is normal as I’ve heard yoga is very good for working negative emotions like anxiety and stress out of the body and the extra pain is my body telling me that its come to the surface. Its the same with my emotions. I’ve practiced yoga before and then the next day I’ll feel very low and cry. I also feel quite exhausted. Is this the yoga having worked the negative emotions out of my body and brought it to the forefront for it to be released ie. in this case, my tears?!

I’d be very greatful for some light shed on this topic!

Namaste

:slight_smile:

it sounds to my extremely ignorant and novice opinion that you need to learn to control your endocrine system (which controls your hormones) and the only way i know of is through Qigong…im kind of in the same world as you i think…deppressed…lonely…really i just need a hug…so im turning (or returning?) into an esoteric maniac.

have you tried cuddling?

1 Like

Why Qigong? Yoga doees have very much influence in balancing endocrine system, even those “sarva hita” asanas, the most simple ones. I’d suggest she should continue with yoga practise, and to do pranayama and meditation regularily.

woudlnt you think that pranayana is a bit advanced for a beginner?

qigong is just real easy on the body which is great for beginners.