Correcting Misalignments

Hi I’m new to this forum and I’m also new to yoga. The reason why I began yoga was because I was searching for a way to correct the misalignment in my legs. I have a condition called genu valgum (commonly known as knock knee). My knees are also hyper extended.

I recently picked up the book Structural Yoga Therapy by Mukunda Stiles. As you all may know, in this book Stiles discusses poses that help align the most common misalignment issues. He actually describes how he corrected his own knock knees in 6 months by doing intensive Warrior II and Tree Pose sessions. I’ve done a fair amount of research and have only found a few articles that support these claims.

I am currently doing a 32 minute session using both Tree and Warrior II. I’m holding each pose for 1 minute on each leg 8 times. My questions are as follows:

1. I was wondering if any of you have had experiences correcting misalignments similar to knock knees and how those experiences panned out.

2. And if there are any other poses besides Tree pose and Warrior II that you can recommend that will help me align my legs.

Thanks in advance to anyone who can help guide me in the right direction.

Ladybug,

1. I have not worked with this particular issue. However I sense you’re looking for some validation and what I can tell you is that my teacher, in his 40+ years of practice (and his teacher) do work with such issues. While it is clearly critical to have a teacher for therapeutic yoga it is also important to mention that the student has to be have the urge to chenge, the willingness to grow, a fire for the doing and patience - along with proper eating habits and meditation.

2. For working knock knees is it not so much poses as it is actions. And so yes there are other ways to work the required actions and those other ways include other postures. Again a reason to have a seasoned teacher craft a practice.

Thank you for the response.