Fat Yogis

Hi Everyone,

Its my first time here, but i am not new to Yoga. I have been practicing for a long time, about 6 years now. I have achieved many great things with the help of yoga however i am still struggling with my weight.

In the peak of my training when i was very disciplined i managed to lose about 30 lbs and was in incredible shape. At the current moment I am about 215 lbs - 5’10" Male - kinda muscular-ish build. I have tried alot to lose the weight again, but its really tough. I do a fair amount excercise, like jump rope, jogging etc. I also practice hot yoga one day a week (yes, i know not enuf) but i am also very flexible and can do come crazy asanas like King Pigeon, Full Lotus etc.

I am wondering what you all think about over weight Yogis. I mean, I can kick but in most Yoga classes. Granted Ashtanga Vinyasa Yogi’s put me to shame, but im no slouch either (and i realise its not a contest). Last summer I did a 500 hour Teacher Training progam but never followed through with teaching partly b.c most Yogis are paper thin and I always felt i would have no credibility as an overwieght yogi.

So with all that said, what do you think. Can yogis be faties also?

I suppose so.

Yoga doesnt burn a particularly big amount of calories so if you are eating too much and/or not being generally active enough to achieve a negative energy balance then you will not lose weight- fact.

There is no particular reason why yogis should be thin but im sure it cant be helpful for certain poses? The other thing is a lot of yogis probably eat a very good diet and are quite outdoorsy anyway so they are likely to be a good weight anyway.

I’m pretty new to yoga (3 months); but isn’t the theory behind yoga to be accepting of everyone and especially yourself?