Hip, knee, and ankle pain

I tried to search the forum for my question(s), but I’ve come up empty. If there are answers already out there, please forgive my inept searching and point me toward the links.

Quick background: I’ve been practicing yoga for seven years, and just this April I completed my 200-hour teacher cert. I have never hurt myself in yoga; I am healthy and strong. And very very frustrated right now.

Three Tuesdays ago, I hurt myself in a vinyasa class. I had worked with this teacher before, but not extensively, and I trust her. The injury was my own fault: when she demonstrated what we’d be doing, alarm bells went off in my head, but I did it anyway.

Essentially, the pinnacle pose of the class was a supta padmasana. We did almost a full hour of poses, including many many hip openers, and I was very nicely warmed-up. Near the end of the class, she instructed us to lie on our backs and guided us into padmasana, knees pointing up. We were then told to slowly lower our knees to the mat, still in padmasana. I felt tightness and restriction on the left side, but made it down, and then we switched legs. When lowering my knees on the right side (right leg on top), I felt something tear in my right hip. I couldn’t get my legs out of padmasana - the more I tried, the more tearing I felt. Breathing slowly and carefully to stop the panic, I managed to raise my knees, untangle myself and lie prone.

My hip hurt a lot for two straight days. It did not matter what action I did: external rotation, abuction, adduction, flexion, extension–pain, pain, pain, pain, pain. Internal rotation relieved some of the tightness at first, but even that hurt after a while. I took four days away from physical practice to rest it, and the pain lessened. When I returned to practice, I was very careful to limit open hip postures and took everything very gently.