Inflexible knees and hamstrings?

I have been doing yoga on and off for a year, but have recently become devoted to it over the past 2 months. I’m still a beginner, and have done lots of weight training and dance in the past.
I have Yoga Journal videos with Rodney Yee and Patricia Walden, and they are awesome. What I have noticed though, is that they always emphasize “pressing your thighs down” when in staff pose and when doing sitting forward bends. When I do this I notice that my feet and calves tend to pop up off the floor.
If I prevent my calves and feet from poking up a bit, then my thighs are not pressed down, and I feel the stretches a lot less. I am wondering if I am hyperextending my knees? I really don’t think so…I’m thinking my knees may just be unflexible. I have flexible hamstrings and butt muscles, but my back and hip flexibility limits me sometimes. I am wondering if the flesh of my thighs (which I do pull to the side for these positions) is preventing me from pressing down correctly?
Another related issue to this seems to be that when I do pilates, there is a move where you have to anchor your legs and butt to the floor while rolling from lying down to a upright seated position. I find it impossible to keep my legs anchored during this. When I initiate the rolling up, my legs and feet always retract a good 2-3 inches into my body.
Any ideas on why these things occur or if they can change? Will these problems hinder my practice? Thank you.

Fiona,

I am also a devotee of the Gaim/Living Arts DVDs. It was Rodney Yee, in fact, who illustrated just how tight not only my hamstrings and knees were, but even tighter, my hips.