ISO Help with hip pain

Hey everybody -

I’m new to this forum but I’ve been practising yoga for several years (lots of classes with some amazing teachers plus some occasional home practise).

I’ve recently been having trouble with my lower back and hip. I was hoping that yoga could help me to heal the trouble spots, but after reading a couple of other posts I’m a bit confused about whether I should be doing hip openers, backbends, or simply resting for a few weeks (argh!). I’ve given up running and soccer while I spend some time repairing, but I can’t give up my job - which involves a lot of sitting at a computer or a microscope (I can sit still for an hour straight), or lugging around heavy equipment outside (cool job that I have!).

In the past, I’ve used a kneeling chair, which seemed to alleviate some of the symptoms when I had to sit still for long periods.

The hip pain is in my left hip, at the back of the pelvis (there’s a bit of a dint in my flesh there, where my buttocks rolls around to the front of my hip). I have trouble with hip openers and lifting my leg without getting a crunchy, grindy sound.

The back pain is just kind of a general dull ache, although I did twinge something a couple of weeks ago (and spent most of the Labor Day weekend flat on my back - got a lot of reading done though!).

I’m thinking about taking a special class for back pain/massage/physical therapy/swimming. It’s hard for me to do no physical activity at all…

This is kind of getting long, so I’ll leave it at that and look forward to all of your wonderful suggestions!

Cheers,

buggirl

Hi Buggirl,

I would have liked to know your age, but not knowing it I am going to assume certain things. First of all, I am not a medical doctor and it does sound to me that you need some medical and expert advice on your problem as well. However, I shall offer some advice based on similar cases in my own yoga classes.