New to forum and question on hip stiffness

Hello to all, new here, I have been doing yoga at home for about 2 months, every day. I love having this new yoga routine, I use DVDs and practice shortly after getting up in the morning.

One question is about hip stiffness. I am fairly dynamic, have always been, biking, hiking, aerobics, weights etc. I’m 48 and in spite of having stretched a fair amount in my life, my hips are tight: classic example of knees pointing upward when doing seated poses. I have been gently working on them, but wonder if at my age, there is any hope of truly loosening.

I have noticed a very slight improvement overall, but my dream is some day to be able to sit in lotus, since I do vipassana meditation and currently have to use a small stool.

thanks for any opinion.

Welcome to the community. I hope find it a profound and safe place to both give and receive.

If we are talking about “possibility” then an emphatic “yes” is my reply. The body has a profound ability to regenerate. However this requires correct thought, correct intention, and correct action (and by “correct” I mean that which is appropriate for the stated mission). So when one is eating properly, resting properly, acting properly, and thinking properly this regeneration is more available.

The larger issue with the hip complex is that many seem to believe an active hip is a balanced hip. All six of the hip movements have to be worked, in the seventh, while avoiding the eighth. So if your current video or teacher is not teaching such things then it would be challenging to have a balanced hip complex unless you are incredibly intuitive or exposed to more sound teaching.