Pre-padmasana asanas

Hello,

I would like someone experienced to suggest me a few positions, whose longer-term practice would eventually enable me to sit in the padmasana position (full lotus sit).

I’ve done a lot of cycling and other sports in my life, so I don’t even get close to padmasana at this time.

The other other sitting postures won’t do it - they are a significant strain on the back, while I’m doing medidation.

The reason I’m asking for postures specific to prepare for padmasana, is that I currently don’t have the time/energy to attend a yoga class (where I’m sure I would encounter such positions), and I’m only doing few yoga positions every morning.

Thanks for you advices,
George

As a relative beginner myself - started about 6 months ago at age 50, could barely sit cross-legged - the most important thing is to NOT force anything, it is a recipe for injury, in particular knee injury. I can now enter full lotus, but only by warming up the entire body - sun salutations and various twists work for me, and I even ease into them at first - and then practice the same preparatory poses that eventually enabled me to reach full lotus. I sit cross-legged a few times with each leg on top, and in between switching legs I straighten my legs and perform a forward bends, then a few times in half lotus, again alternating legs with seated forward bends, and only then, and only if I feel NO pain or tightness in my knees do I enter full lotus.

You will probably receive better advice here, and possibly questions as to your motivation, but this is what worked for me.

Ok I've done some searching on this site, and these are all the references I have found.
And to repeat for anyone who may be reading this: There is a great deal of warning to not force the Padmasana in any way, because it's very dangerous.
Also, of course, do not preclude your meditation practice by trying to get into Padmasana first.

Please contribute more sources if you know any.