Slightly strange stretch (knees bent, knees to chest, but legs out in front)

I have been doing yoga now for a month or so, attending a class once a week and doing exercises almost every evening after work (I’m a male physics student, and work at a computer for 9 hours a day). I would have to say that I’ve noticed a surprisingly large improvement (in what I consider to be a short period of time) to my strength and flexibility, as well as my general energy levels.

Recently a friend who doesn’t do yoga, but instead does a lot of martial arts showed me a stretch she does. Basically you sit on the floor with a box in front of you - the box should be high enough to match your chest. You put your legs (calf side down) on the box so that the bend between at the knees is about 90-95 degrees, and so that the calves are roughly parallel with the floor. Then you reach forwards and grab the far side of the box (or your heels). It’s almost like doing a sit-up with the legs raised and holding the “up” position. I find this a very very difficult stretch, which is strange since it seems to be the act of raising the legs which makes it so hard (as far as I can tell, I can easily go from standing and bend forwards with my knees bent and touch ground).

What is this stretch exactly? I’ve looked around online for it and I cannot see it mentioned anywhere - the closest thing is lying on the back and bringing the knees to the chest (which I don’t find difficult). Also, would somebody please be able to tell me what it is stretching?

Thank you.

You’re the physics student - so experiment! :slight_smile: What do you feel stretching?

Or, if you cannot work it out in your body, work it out in your mind. What part of your body is getting longer (stretch), this part being opposite to the part that is getting shorter (toning)?