Sun Salutations for Beginning Students

Hello! I am a new Yoga Teacher - still in training. There is one yoga class that I have begun to teach - and one thing that I find is I have a few students {they are around mid-40’s age, female, who have never done yoga before} that discuss around the Sun Salutations and comment on difficulty within the transition from downward facing Dog to the Lunge position. It is such a long step!

How do you instruct your students between Down Dog to Lunge? Is there a way I can simplify this for them {using better language and instruction}? My students are a bit overweight, but wonderful students with a desire for their own health. I hope I can help them enjoy yoga and make this transition a bit easier for them!

Any ideas on language I can use or techniques to make this easier?

Thank you!