Yoga for Spinal Fusion

Hello!

I’m new to yoga but I really want to try to become proficient, as I think it will help my strength, balance, stress, and dealing with chronic pain.

I am 24. When I was 20 I fell while I was working and herniated/fractured 2 discs. I ended up having to have a L3-L4/L4-L5 fusion to patch me back up. As a result I have chronic pain, that while not [I]too[/I] terrible is very tiring and limiting. I also have numbness running along my sciatic nerve on my left leg from just below my knee all the way across my foot to my big toe. It doesn’t numb my whole left leg, just the skin mostly, but I have limited calf and foot muscle usage as a result. It has taken me 3+ years but most people can’t tell by the way I walk any more and my balance is MUCH improved. (Not being able to stand on grass or carpet without falling, now I can run, and wear ridiculous heels if I so desire:cool:)

ANYHOW. My question is this: Does anyone have experience with such a thing as a person with back issues or as a professional who deals with this type of issue?

As I am not supposed to twist (much) and my spine literally doesn’t bend in a section of it…Will my body ever be able to compensate? IE if I turn with my hips instead of twisting with my spine, will my hips ever open up enough that I can achieve a degree of movement that is acceptable? Will the non-fused bits of my spine be more limber? Importantly, is this horribly bad for me??

I have accepted that I will never be able to do deep back bends or touch my feet to the top of my head backwards or anything like that. I’m just looking for general advice :slight_smile: Thanks!

General advice is that since some things in the spine are surgically attached to other things and that such attaching in not a native state, an asana practice should be tailored for you by a very experienced, therapeutically trained yoga teacher.

Anything less than that would likely heighten risk.

Thank you!

You’re welcome.