Blood high pressure and inverted poses

Hi everyone!I’m a yoga teacher and I’m having trouble in deciding if people with an issue of high blood pressure (I mean, that should be checked from time to time) are allowed to practice inverted poses such as sarvangasana and sirsasana. Obviously I wouldn’t keep them for more than one minute, anyway, is it dangerous?
Thank you so much

Students with high blood pressure may be best served with modified or gentle inversions rather than the full poses you mention. When it is appropriate for them to do those poses then keep them only for three breaths.

Hi,

I have a number of students in my class with HBP of which one is a medical doctor. Most important is to ensure that their BP is under control, in other words if they are on medication it should work and they should have a near to normal BP. You have to ask and question them about this. If their BP is under control there is no reason why they cannot do the inversions, just don’t hold them too long, a minute at most. I have a Tensoval automatic blood pressure monitor which I take to class and we have taken BP’s before inversions and again after inversion and what astounds me is the drop in especially the diastolic reading for most of the BP students.

Please note, it is important to also gradually introduce these students to inversions. Take your time with them and slowly working it up to a full inversion one day. Also I do not allow a student to do inversions if they cannot bring me their medication as many will say yes they are on medication and it is under control and meantime it might not be so. So ask them to bring their medication and invest in a BP monitoring device and take their BP’s before class. I try to make it a fun and relaxing experience for them.

Here is also an interesting article on HBP.

Good luck with this. :slight_smile: