Hanna Somatics

Has anyone heard of this neuromuscular re-education therapy?
. Or if you do indeed practice it i would be glad to hear from you.

I posted some time ago ( aug 07)about being tight on one side of the body, my left, particularly in the core region at my side/waist. This gives me a slight tilt or lean to that side, with the pelvis and ribicage pulled closer together, so to speak on that side Invariably the hip is often higher, shoulders a different height and , in my case i bear wieght more on my right side.

I stopped asana about a year ago after experimenting with yin/restorative, bolster yoga and aadil’s hip-opening series.

I have been learning somatic excercises for about 6 months now,started back in May. I do struggle with Lesson 3 of the Cat Stretch specially diesgined to give you greater verticality and correct any tilt. Though i have problems sensing this part and releasing this side.

It reprogams the sensory-motor tracts of your brain through the cultivation of sensroy awareness and biofeedback muscle- brain training. I got into this through a program touted’ free your psoas’ but now am working on the ’ outgrrowing the myth of aging’ series aka the cat stretch.

I am trying so the theory goes, change the muscular sytem through unscrambilng and remebering the sensory motor functions of the nervous system.

I would be glad to hear anyone who practices this with their yoga or or on it’s own or martial arts or whatever. It would appear to be relatively unknown. But it is worth learning if you suffer from tight muscles and grappling with a therpaeutic type pratice.

Hi there