Sciatica & Herniated Disc

I had a herniated disc seven months ago. I went to physical therapy for a few months. The pain didn’t go away as time went on, so due to my anxiety, I would never sit. I’d just sit stand all day or lay down. I haven’t even bent my back. So I’ve been standing for three months or so now.

The pain in my leg is gone unless I jump around. It will come back for a short amount of time, but then go away. According to my doctor, my disc should be healed. For the first time, I’ve been sitting down. I tried to sit on the floor today, my lower legs began to hurt. I don’t know what to do.

What do you recommend? Lee

First of all I would recommend you look at my Q & A website www.yogaforums.com for more advice that was given previously. You can search there for herniated disc and also for sciatica symptoms. The main recommendation is to hydrate. As the disc is made of 80% water one with this condition is often chronically dehydrated. Just filling up your tank regularly, 1-2 quarts per day minimum only water, can make a huge difference. In addition there are mild backbending poses like cobra and locust using only your hip muscles not arms while doing them that can help send nutrients to the disc. Individually tailored Structural Yoga Therapy can help too if you are near me or any of my graduates. namaste Mukunda

I have another question. I’m confused totally now. Everybody tells me different things. Is it ok to bend your back forward? Some tell me it’s ok to do that, and some tell me don’t ever do that at all. My leg pain has been gone. I did a short bend, and now my foot is hurting again slightly. I’m not sure if that’s cause of my disc or cause my back muscles have been injured.

Lee