Self-practice for beginner

Hello - I’m a true beginner and have been going to a couple of classes (ashtanga and hatha) per week for a few weeks and practicing at home - I try to practice every day. When I have a good amount of time to practice I do 5 each of Surya Namaskara A and B before doing most of the seated forward bends from the primary series. I do this because I have been a runner for years and have comicly tight hamstrings!

I asked what I should try to do if I don’t have much time (i.e. before an all-day shift) and was told to try to do 3 each of Surya Namaskara A and B then the last three finishing asanas. Different resources seem to have different finishing ansnas. Which should I do?

Also, is there a short answer as to whether I should run before or after yoga? I’ve been doing yoga before as it seems to make my running form, core activation, etc, much much better. I seam to float along!

Many thanks for any advice regarding my ‘short-practices’.

David

Hello David,

An answer about what you should do would be style-dependent. Different schools, lineage, styles would respond differently. A response from me would be one within a Purna Yoga construct thus flowing from BKS Iyengar, Sri Aurobindo, and my teacher Aadil Palkhivala. If you are studying in the Ashtanga system then an answer from an ashtanga teacher is most appropriate.