Buddhist Yogi

I am a fairly new practicing Buddhist and Yogi (I have been practicing both for less than four years), and a recovered alcoholic on a path working towards continuous enlightenment, balance, and letting go of my ego.
This will be an ongoing journey I realize…

Recently I returned to my Ashtanga practice after sometime away, and it has only seemed to deepen my connection with my true self, and is allowing me to maintain a better sense of calm and focus both spiritually and emotionally. In addition, it has been an amazing touchstone in my recovery, as has Buddhism…

Are there any fellow Buddhist yogis out there who are on a similar journey, and would like to share with me, how their lives are evolving?

I would love to attend a Buddhist retreat this year. I live in a fairly remote area, where there are not any Buddhist temples nearby, and I feel compelled to connect and learn from fellow Buddhists, who would be kind enough to share their enlightenment and wisdom.
Honestly, the above also goes for Ashtanga. There are no local studios in my area, and I may need to travel to California, India or Mauii to deepen my Ashtanga practice.

I look forward to sharing with you…

Namaste

Good job! recovering from substance abuse was hard for me too and became very enjoyable afterwards. :slight_smile:
You just need to search online…you may want to check yogajournal.com, they publish those king of things. And there are plenty of retreats going on in california.

Namaste

Hi piceanjoy. I guess we are all in a similar journey, I mean working towards enlightenment regardless of our past actions. If you plan to travel to Asia I would recommend the 1 month meditation course at the Kopan Monastery in Nepal. I wrote a bit about my experience there on my blog path2yoga.blogspot.com/2010/04/one-month-meditation-course-in-nepal.html You can also find the links to the monastery website there. Good luck
Marco