Brand new to yoga

Hi - I’m just starting out and taking my first class. Is it usual to have music playing during Yoga class? I’m finding it somewhat distracting.

Hi - I’m just starting out and taking my first class. Is it usual to have music playing during Yoga class? I’m finding it somewhat distracting.

Hello Rivette,

You may find the phrase “usual” as it relates to yoga and the forum to be a less than clarifying term.

The answer about music is simply that some do and some do not play music during class. The same can be said of burning incense and turning up the heat, to mention only a few.

And from my experience those playing music stick by it just as those not playing it do. Each group, I imagine, has a bevy of reasons why and it might be educational to inquire of the teacher why they play music. I know I welcome such questions about this and other things around the practice. An asking student is an engaged student.

My personal sense, which may be meaningless to you here, is that music is marvelous, but not during my practice. I’ve got enough sound already in my life. It is stillness and quiet that I find a need to carve out. And my practice is one of internal reference so that which is external draws me away rather than into. Obviously there are some external things that are beyond control - other students, passing sirens, aromas from restaurants…and that is fine. I simply prefer not to add to it.

The resolutions are obvious, no?
If you cannot find joy in the practice there with the music then it would be sensible to go where there is none.

Hello Rivette,
In Classical Yoga asana classes, I think it is very unusual to have music playing. Other than having a single teacher play a flute during savasana, I had not heard of music being played during class until my friend told me that this was a regular thing at our local Core Power studio. She said that the music there ranged from New Age to hip hop.