Meditation Techniques

Namaste All,

I’ve been considering posting this for a while (a couple of months perhaps) but…

I’ve been considering various meditation techniques and was wondering who does what, with any pros and cons you care to mention.

Feel free to provide as little or as much info or feedback as you like, and i’ll be happy to provide more if you want it.:stuck_out_tongue:

1 Like

Hello Core789,

Yes, please do share some more information with us. Where do you live (apart from Gaia:))? What is your experience with meditation so far (how long, what techniques, what school) and where do you want to go?

Are you sure that you want to know about techniques? There are so many of them. I think The Buddha already mentioned about 40 of which at least 20 are suited for reaching “higher states of concentration”. And they all boil down to the same thing - having a point of focus and letting go of what else comes up. Over and over again.

Moreover, most techniques are fairly simple. Take mindfulness of breath by way of example. Just sit with a straight spine and follow your breath. Do this for 25 minutes, twice daily. The problem is generally not the technique, but how to apply it skillfully. And where to find the discipline to do this for years on end.

So it helps to find a teacher and a support group (“sangha”) for assistance. And it is really convenient to have these nearby. So look around in your hometown or close to it.