Jal Neti

Hello there,

I am new member of this yoga community forum and please to introduce myself here.

recently i started learning hath yoga and came to know about jal neti as well.

how one can learn jal neti safely and with correct technique on his own?

Is there any side effect if it performs wrong?

Please guide me in this regard.All the answers would be highly appreciated.

thank you.

Aum

If you want to squirt water up your nostrils that can be learned on your own. If you want to perform this form of Neti with an intention that aligns with yoga philsophy then it is best to have a teacher.

It is possible to introduce infection into the nasal passages though I cannot tell you how often that occurs. It may be very rare. I simply do not know.

There are, i suspect, numerous sites on the internet for doing such a thing. But I think a teacher is best.

Namaste Aum,
Welcome to the forum! Since you are new here, I want to encourage you to search for topics using keywords to see what has been posted previously.

The searching for [B]neti[/B] will produce about 10 threads for you; I’ve included 3 here.

http://www.yogaforums.com/forums/f18/jala-neti-453.html
http://www.yogaforums.com/forums/f18/sinus-condition-11.html
http://www.yogaforums.com/forums/f18/neti-pot-47.html

Best wishes to you in your practice,

thanks for the reply. do one can use something similar to jal neti pot? as it is difficult to find.

You are welcome for the reply. As InnerAthlete offers to you in an earlier post, it is best to learn all of these techniques, as they were intended, from a teacher. Jala neti should be the [B]only[/B] Shat Karma that one could possibly do without a trained Shat Karma practitioner taking you through each method.

In the Ayurveda school I attended, we used small watering pots, like you would use for your house plants. These are easier to find, of course.